linking visitors with places to stay since 2008
Back to listings

Mouseman Visitor Centre

Kilburn

Visit our Craftsmen at The Mouseman Visitor Centre, Kilburn, near Thirsk, North Yorkshire, including the Mouseman's Cottage, gift shop, audio visual room and more.

Features

Recently refurbished Blacksmith’s and Joiners Shops

Blacksmith’s Cottage fully restored (attention to detail with horsehair and lime plaster on walls)

Viewing Gallery

See Robert Thompson’s own furniture (many pieces personally handcrafted)

Visit the famous White Horse of Kilburn landmark – fantastic backdrop, created in 1857)

Lovely gardens with picturesque views all around

St. Mary’s Church with Memorial Chapel dedicated to Robert Thompson with extensive collection of ecclesiastical furniture

Facilities

Visit our ‘T Café’ for fabulous refreshments (lunches and afternoon teas) with Alfresco area for summer days

Gift Shop – from napkin rings to nests of tables plus interesting range of cards and gifts

Group Bookings available

The Mouseman Visitor Centre is located in the centre of the pretty village of Kilburn, under the famous White Horse landmark (a feature most unique in the North of England), which makes this village stand out as one of the most picturesque and interesting villages in Yorkshire. The White Horse of Kilburn forms the backdrop to a cluster of cottages, an Inn and Church which contains the memorial chapel created in solid English Oak by Craftsmen, to Robert Thompson (founder) who was born in 1876, the son of a local Wheelwright and Joiner.

Robert Thompson realised his dream of bringing back the spirit of craftsmanship in English Oak. Every item created is carved with the famous ‘Mouse’ icon which has become world-wide known for its high quality and mark of dedication and craftsmanship.

The Visitor Centre has re-opened its doors after undergoing an extensive refurbishment of the Joiners and Blacksmiths shops and the cottage next door. The cottage now houses three 1930s room sets with Mr Thompson’s very own furniture, many of those created by his own working hands.

The Old Joiners Shop is where the Mouseman Story starts, with several exhibits of Robert’s early work (pre-Mouse). Upstairs discover what it was like to live in the early 1900’s when Robert took over from his later Father as the village joiner. There’s more to see too: the Viewing Gallery, Mouseman’s Cottage, the gardens with spectacular surrounding views, and St. Mary’s Church. Visit the ‘T Café’ for scrumptious lunches and delicious afternoon teas.

Adults £4.50, Children £2.75, Families £12.00 (2 adults + 2 children under 16 years) as at June 2013.

As at June 2013 - Open (Easter to October) open daily from 10am - 5pm.

November + December open Wed - Sun 11am - 4pm.

Sales and Office open daily all year round.

loading...

Email Mouseman Visitor Centre

Use this form to email Mouseman Visitor Centre directly.